18 Summer Street, Lynnfield, MA 01940 | 781.334.5411 or 781.334.6404
Lynnfield Public Library
  • Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

    Our courteous and professional reference staff will be happy to find a book or article, research a topic, or answer a nagging question.

    Please contact us by:
    Phone, 781.334.5411
    email, lfd@noblenet.org
    or in person at the Reference Desk
  • About the Databases

    The Library offers access to many specialized online resources that you can access remotely 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your home, school, or office.

    These research tools are funded through the Library, the NOBLE network and the state’s regional library system, and many of them are only available to library card holders.

    Click on the links below, and when asked, type in your 14-digit library card number. If you don’t have a library card, stop by the Circulation Desk at the Library. (If you are in the library on one of our computers, you do not need to type in your library card number to access these databases.)

    If you are unable to access any of the following databases, and are not a Lynnfield resident, go to NOBLE Reference Databases.

General & Scholarly Research

Massachusetts Statewide Databases (Gale) : Find the Encyclopaedia Britannica, biographies, health and prescription drug information, US and World History, newswires, business directories, investment reports, K-12 resources and electronic reference books - research for all ages!
Visit Website
EBSCO Databases : Access general and scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics.
EBSCO also contains full text access to Consumer Reports: just type 'consumer reports' in the publication search box.
Visit Website

Genealogy Research

Search America's GenealogyBank to find your ancestors in over 300 years of historical newspapers, books, pamphlets and government reports.
Visit Website
Check out Ancestry Library Edition, an unparalleled genealogy collection with over 200+ billion images in 7,000 unique databases. ProQuest and Ancestry.com have partnered to temporarily enable remote access through the end of December. You may access the database using this LINK. (You will need your library card and pin.)
Visit Website

Learn a Skill

*NEW* Explore thousands of professional art & craft video tutorials ranging in subjects from knitting to jewelry to decorating and baking. Includes classes for all ages.
Visit Website
Duolingo is the world's largest online language learning platform and is 100% free with 16 languages available, and growing!
Visit Website
If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, or are a little unsure and uncomfortable, DigitalLearn provides slow-paced video tutorials to guide you through topics from setting up email, using a PC or Mac, to how to purchase a plane ticket online.
Visit Website

Looking for Old News

Find full text articles from the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.
Visit Website
Find full text articles from the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Visit Website

Health & Medical Reference

Use Magill's Medical Guide online to find up to date health and medical information.
Visit Website

Book & Literary Research

Hoopla

Hoopla is a digital media service, through which you may access and enjoy nearly half a million titles, from six different formats including eAudiobooks, eBooks, and Comics/Graphic Novels. There are no hold lists - everyone can access everything all the time! (limit 10 titles per month)
Visit Website
eSequels

Find popular series fiction by title, author, or characters. Find the correct order of hundreds of series!
Visit Website
Novelist Plus

NoveList Plus is a powerful Reader's Advisory database - to find read-a-likes for authors, titles, and series.
Visit Website
Novelist K-8 Plus

Specifically for younger readers, this database helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents and teachers can also find help with Common Core!
Visit Website
Use OCLC Worldcat to track down an obscure title, and then contact us so we can order it for you - requests through OCLC WorldCat may only be placed by library staff. We have gotten books from Louisiana to Alaska to Colorado for our patrons!
Visit Website